Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Sept. 18, 2005

12:02 p.m.

i've suspected this for a long time, but now i'm convinced of it.......

my daughter is an alien.

i have always been a tomboy. i spent my childhood playing sports. i avoided wearing skirts and dresses at all costs. i did have a barbie camper, but i used my brother's g.i. joe's in it.

KidTwo loves pink, always wants to wear a skirt, has a growing collection of barbies and disney princesses, and loves to wear makeup and paint her nails. this always made me suspect that she is an alien, but something she's doing today sealed it.

she's taking a cheerleading class!?! (that was physically painful to type)

the cheerleaders at the local high school are teaching the class, and then this friday the kids will be on the field during halftime of the high school football game performing the routine they learn. i know it will be cute, and she'll be the cutest little cheerleader out there, but where did she come from? is there a girlie/barbie/cheerleading gene?

on the other hand, my mother probably thought I was an alien. she was very girlie, and i know she was secretly disappointed that my sister and i preferred a softball mitt and overalls to pompoms and miniskirts.

maybe the girlie/barbie/cheerleading gene skips a generation.

and, looking at my husband's increasingly shiny head, i hope for KidOne's sake that it's true that the baldness gene skips a generation, too.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

< ? Blogging Mommies # > - Crazy/Hip Blog-Mamas + Mothering from the Brink