Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 01, 2006

11:53 a.m.

One of the things that happened during my blogging hiatus is that we started going to church. Not in a born-again kind of way or anything. Let me explain....

I grew up Catholic. My mom, like all good guilt-inducing Catholic moms, forced my siblings and I to go to Mass and Sunday School every week until we were confirmed. Then she basically said "You're adults in the church now and you can decide whether or not you want to go to church." At which point, I immediately stopped going to church....and now it's 20+ years later. I literally have not gone to church except occasionally on Christmas and Easter for two decades!

P (who was also raised Catholic and basically has the same religious experience I do) and I did get married by a priest, because we knew it was important to our parents, and especially to my grandparents.

Then we had kids. We had them both baptised, but were still not going to church. P and I decided that despite our problems with the Catholic church, it was valuable for us to have gone through religious education as kids. It basically reinforces a lot of good things. You know, don't lie, cheat, or steal, the whole do unto others concept, etc., etc., etc.

KidOne is in first grade. In order to make his first communion next year, he had to start Sunday school this year. So, back in October, we officially joined a Catholic church and enrolled KidOne in Sunday School. And P, KidTwo, and I attend Mass while he's in class.

So, today is the beginning of Lent. After Mass/Sunday school this past Sunday, P and I discussed the concept of giving something up for Lent. After much debating (and reassurances that they would still be allowed to have cookies), KidOne and KidTwo both decided to give up candy. Which is major, especially for KidTwo who is a candyholic.

Fast forward to today, and a very sad KidTwo after kindergarten, where Tony brought chocolate as a special treat, and she couldn't have any. She just kept repeating over and over "I don't want to give up candy anymore!" I reminded her that she could have a Girl Scout cookie after lunch, and that cheered her up a little bit, but not completely. When we got home, she sat down with her sad little face and picked up the Nintendo DS and said "At least I didn't give this up for Lent!"

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

< ? Blogging Mommies # > - Crazy/Hip Blog-Mamas + Mothering from the Brink