Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Oct. 06, 2005

4:30 p.m.

and the winner of dork of the year is.....drumroll please........ ME!!!!!

thank you, thank you.

i'd like to thank the dorks that came before me.

my older brother, who is constantly doing pratfalls.

my mother, who once chased her luggage around a baggage carousel until i reminded her that if she stood in one place it would come back to her eventually.

my father, who for two weeks in the mid-80s decided he was really into darts and even bought himself his own professional dart set complete with leather case.

i accept this award on behalf of all mothers who have run out of gas on the way home from school (still within site of the school, might i add, as school buses passed me by), and had to call an understanding, and equally dorky friend to take me and my mortified 7-year-old son to the gas station. (my only consolation is that someday Amy will do something dorkish that will require me to bail her out.)

to my husband, P, i give my undying gratitude for sticking with me all these years and loving me partially because of my dorkiness.

to my kids, KidOne and KidTwo, all i can say is.....you're both screwed! i'm sorry, but you come from a long line of dorks, and as is evident from my immediate family, the dork gene does not skip generations. evidently, it gets stronger as the generations pass.

3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

< ? Blogging Mommies # > - Crazy/Hip Blog-Mamas + Mothering from the Brink